It began with a choice.

Two roads up ahead, which one shall I choose?

Two roads up ahead, which one shall I choose?

Decisions.  Hate them.  I’m not talking about the trivial ones, like paper or plastic, either.  No, I mean the monumental decisions where the burden is so heavy that the effects of a wrong decision could potentially result in a life altering catastrophe.  We’ve all had to deal with these fork in the road, which way will we choose decisions, right?  Some people pull out the pro and con list as they work through the decision making process while others use the eenie, meenie, minee, mo approach.  Some fast and pray.  Some wait until one of the options vanish…I call it the ‘drag your feet method.’  Some get the opinions of friends.  Some live their lives with such control that major decisions are rarely encountered.  I would even venture to say that many people do all of the above tactics and more!  I don’t know about you, but I have not found the decision making process to get any easier as I get older.  In fact, it has probably gotten harder because I am more aware of the outcome(s) of a bad decision and the impact it will hold for me and my family.  No longer can I fly by the seat of my pants as vicariously as I did in my youth.  With age comes knowledge.  Knowledge.  In fact it (it- as in all the crap) began with knowledge.   Remember the tree of knowledge of good and evil in the garden of Eden?  The result of a decision, a choice, is still effecting us today.

So I guess when it comes right down to it, more than the decision itself, our obedience is what it’s all about.  The decision making process poses many challenges but if we are obedient to what the Lord is calling us to do then we can not go wrong.  Obedient decisions are usually the most difficult because often they require us to put down our flesh and the natural surroundings screaming at us to do otherwise.  However, they also hold the most rewarding end results….and that my friends is beautiful!   I don’t mind being on the other side, the reaping side, of a good decision!

It all began with a choice….choose wisely, choose obedience.

Leave a Reply

