Connect the dots: What your parents didn’t want you to know!

 

I grew up in the seventies and eighties.  The seventies were the era of my childhood and the eighties took me through the teen years.  Have you ever experienced something as a child that you always wondered about….something that didn’t really make sense even though the adults tried to give a feeble explanation?  And it wasn’t until much later when you were much older that connecting the dots became possible.

Yes?   No?  Not sure?  Let me give you an example.

I remember the seventies as a fun era.  The air was cleaner, the sun brighter, and the outdoors was our playground.  My family and I lived beside other family members.  This area has since been labeled as “the compound” and consisted of grandparents, an uncle, an aunt and two cousins.  We spent hours upon hours outside.  We made mud-pies, played hide-n-go-seek, walked in the woods, caught lightning bugs, ran through the sprinkler, and generally did not come inside unless forced against our will.  Those were the days of the seventies, the days of my youth.

During one of these days my cousin and brother discovered a rare find.   Along the side of the road they discovered a box of individually wrapped balloons.  These balloons were like no other.  Each packet was flat.  The latex inside was  rolled up but when unwrapped, it magically became elongated and contained a white powder substance.

The boys excitedly began to unwrap their treasure and blow up these cool new finds.  These unique balloons proved difficult to blow-up and tie off.  Thus, the boys asked for help from my Mom and Aunt.  When the adults saw these balloons they giggled nervously, immediately confiscated the box and remarked that they were special balloons for adults and not for kids to play with.  My brother and cousin stood confused and dejected with a still visible white powered ring imprinted around  their mouths.

I had always wondered about that incident and those “special adult balloons.”  The adults gave no further information and the balloons were never seen again.  It was not until much later when I came across one of those “special adult balloons” that I realized the treasure box my brother and cousin had discovered in the days of our youth was  a box of condoms!

And that’s how you connect the dots!

9 responses to “Connect the dots: What your parents didn’t want you to know!

  1. I well remember THAT day! It is still funny and well worth the laugh!

  2. I liked how you said the parents giggled nervously. I remember a similar story of my mom and I in 6th grade and connecting the dots. Thanks for the memories.

  3. Oh Beth, I keep meaning to ask you what the Gravatar picture is of for your web site. Can you explain?

    • Are you taking about the ripped jean Gravatar or is the row of books showing up? If you look under the “about me” page on my blog you will see the full picture of my ripped jeans. It is of my leg taken from above. I love my ripped jeans. If it’s the books well, I LOVE books. I took the picture at a book store.

  4. I found the same balloons in the forest next to our house. We filled them with water, though. You had to throw them really hard to get them to break.

    • Hmmmm, great idea! I’ll have to remember that for the 6yr old’s next B-day party! It seems we always forget the H2O balloons but the hubs has plenty of the others on hand 🙂

  5. Haha, that’s a great “a-Ha!” moment. I had a similar one myself years after teh fact.

Leave a Reply

