Stripper poles, Chinatown and Hickeys…NYC has it all!

We spent a big portion of our NYC trip on the subway.  While Mr. Pavlov and I consider ourselves experienced subway surfers (thanks to the years we spent living in Washington D.C.) our kids are relatively subway newbies.  Especially the youngest.  To him the subway was pure entertainment.  Whether testing his balancing skills or his speed at maneuvering through slamming doors or perfecting his climbing techniques, the subway was his new urban playground. He was uninhibited and loving life.  These are just a few quick glimpses of our daily rides:

See what I can do on a near empty train?!

 

This is GRRRREAT!!

 Then he did this and said…..

Look mom I'm like.....

…..one of those lady actresses on TV with a pole.  Chirp, chirp…awkward silence.  Did I hear correctly? Lady actresses on TV with a Pole? 

Ok, my mind was racing.  What could he possibly be referring to???  What had he seen? Maybe he watched a documentary on female firefighters.  That’s possible right?

Just as I was convincing myself that he was most certainly referring to female firefighters, he busted out some killer stripper pole moves that even gained the attention (along with a few raised eyebrows) of the normally indifferent NY subway commuters.  I glared in the direction of Mr. Pavlov who shrugged [too quickly] in innocence.  He looked guilty to me.  I inquisitioned him and the lil’ pole stripper later only to discover that the guilty party was America’s Funniest Home Videos! 

Our Chinatown stop arrived and the subway striptease came to an abrupt end.  Chinatown is a unique world with sights, sounds and people that you just have to experience.  Whether a white rapist van filled with smoke and Jamaicans yelling “Ehh, blonde, blonde c’mere me want’ta tell you someting!” or the various animal parts hanging in shop windows, Chinatown is an auditory and visual trip! 

Thankfully, I had my camera hanging heavily on my neck and here are a few sights:

What in the Hoy is Wong??

Where's Loud Orange Hat Waldo in the crowd??

His NYC Indian Name: "Loud Orange Hat" (we bought that color for a reason) trying to strike up a conversation with a random man.

Quack

Oink

What critter can we eat???

Mr. Crab?

Take a guess

Older son "Whoa, wait a minute...what's this I see...GAMES?!?"

Feed us!!!!!

To a boy everything is a cool experiment

Yum, Hot soup - clears the nasal cavity!

If your aura is somewhat altered after all of these unusual sight and sounds then, believe it or not, Chinatown has just the fix.  Had it not been for Marianne, a blogging buddy of mine over at comedyoferrers.com I would not have had any idea about fixing your aura or what this next photo was for.  Thankfully, Marianne made this comment recently on my Only a Boy post:

There is a massage acupuncture thing called cupping where they put suction cups on your back to clear your aura of stuff. I tried to hide it from my husband and was unsuccessful. His question: How much did you pay for someone to do that?

When I saw this little gizmo staring back at me from a shop window, I immediately remembered Marianne’s comment and chuckled.

Hickey marks anyone?

 I considered purchasing Mr. Hickey maker but a few things stopped me:

  1. the visual image of my boys elatedly covered in self-inflicted hickeys
  2. my youngest proudly proclaiming that he gave these hickeys to himself with a suction “machine” that mommy bought in an [alley located] Asian shop
  3. the visit from Child and Youth Services

 The aura machine remained in the dirty window while we headed to the subway.  Tres played stripper again during the ride back to Manhattan but somehow, in light of everything we saw, it didn’t seem so bad.

14 responses to “Stripper poles, Chinatown and Hickeys…NYC has it all!

  1. Oh my goodness, I am still giggling about the stripper pole story.

    • I’m laughing now but was in bronchospasm when the words actresses and their poles came out of his mouth followed by the stripper moves!

  2. Hahahaha, aren’t kids great!! Looks like a great day 🙂

  3. Oh my goodness, the stripper pole on the subway… woooow! Gotta love kiddos. 🙂

    Looks like such a fun visit to Chinatown!

  4. Like those ladies on TV with a pole? Oh, my! I’m dying. But what an amazing experience for your kids.

    I have yet to take either of my children to NY (or to Washington DC where there father lived for years, for that matter).

    Thinking we all need to go. Soon

    For the culture. The food. The subway stripper poles.

    Love.

    • Yes you do! While the food and culture is grand, the opportunity to observe your offspring frolic on a stainless steel pole is priceless. I highly suspect he can now check “pole lady” off of his vocational list!

  5. I used to like going to Chinatown in Toronto…

    Hmm…hickey therapy…not sure about that…

    Thanks for sharing your photos!

    Wendy

  6. Huh oh! Now I’m wondering what my kids will do when they hit our train system. Although I can pretty much bet they won’t have seen any pole dancers – yet.

  7. Really, the suction thing only sounds weird. (I keep forgetting things on the internet are public and a lot of people now know I can be talked into about anything.)

    • I’m most thankful for the education! Thanks to your experience I came off as ‘Oh Most Wise One’ when I could explain the apparatus. That’s worth a lot right there!!

Leave a Reply

