Bra burning and the start of school…embrace who you are!

After screaming and dragging my feet in imaginary dirt, I am (f i n a l l y) in the back to school spirit given that my three departed from our summer loving  abode this week and boarded the big yellow bus.  I was dreading the start of school because I truly love the chilled days of summer where we throw abandonment to any form of schedule.  We stay up late, sleep in late, eat crap and burn our bras (this actually happened when my mom hurled her ill-fitting bra into the bonfire flames late one hot summer night).

It is the raw stuff that makes life fun and provides for interesting conversation when my second grader answers the first day ‘getting to know you’ question of “What did you do or see this summer?”  Sorry Mom.  If you receive odd looks during Grandparents Day, you now know why!

They have been in school a mere three days and in addition to a quiet house, I am beginning to delight in the return of an organized schedule.  There is something to be said for a routine and for once, my descriptive adjectives are positive.

Maybe it is because I have finally embraced who I am.  I know my weakness (my 5:30am wake-up and addiction to the snooze button) and can prepare for success in spite of them (making sure my offspring are awake, fed, sometimes clean, and on the bus).

I no longer feel inadequate or make excuses for what makes me, me. Ok, maybe I lapse into excuse making inadequacy when I spot a super organized, highly polished, morning loving Mama as I stand there with exercise sweat still on my pants wearing the sports bra that (as my youngest so observantly pointed out) my flat chest does not really require. Or worse (yes there are worse things than clothes bearing exercise sweat and sports bras) when I fail to get dressed and hear the surprised greetings of Mr. Pavlov or the kids “You didn’t even change today?!?”  Yeah?  So what? I like my jammies.  But this lapse is short-lived once I (mentally and occasionally physically) slap myself a few times and picture the highly efficient mama in my state.

I am happy that this “embrace who you are” vibe has taken root in my kids given that I’ve only been spewing this point since their birth!!! My youngest shrugged off the five question limit that his teacher imposed upon him the second day of school with a simple,

 “I like to know information and I have a lot of questions. It’s who I am.”

The two older ones are unmoved by social standards or “norms” when usually, at their age(s), these two factors are most important.  If they don’t like it (whatever it may be), it isn’t happening!  They are confident in their skin and are not willing to compromise who they are [insert a big parental YAY!]

It appears as if my brother and sister-in-law have embraced the same ‘be who you are’ parenting theme.  My nephew not only beats to his own drum but has is own music.  He is one highly successful child and makes no excuses for who he is or what makes him tick.

This was taken when my sister-in-law had to visit his school.  She smiled with immediate recognition.  This picture says it all and sums it up……

In a world of followers be unique, be you and burn a bra or two!

I’m curious.  Who besides my Mom has actually burned their bra? The few bras that I own happen to be Victoria’s Secret.  This flat chested wonder needs all the assistance that I can get and the VS miraculous bra does the job nicely.  Miracles are indeed created in the form of a small cleavage appearing on my chest.  Who cares that a bullet could pass through the bra and never penetrate skin or that one could bruise or wound the unfortunate soul who happens to come in contact with the bra weaponry.  Yes, there is THAT much padding and push of which does not come cheap.  So at $49.95 a bra there’s no way they will be seeing flames anytime soon.

16 responses to “Bra burning and the start of school…embrace who you are!

  1. ”I like to know information and I have a lot of questions. It’s who I am.” I LOVE that! My 5yo is just starting kindergarten, and one of my concerns was how she would respond to the pressure to conform. We do not want her love of learning to be stifled by anyone, in any environment.
    Embracing who we are is tough stuff, for adults. How wonderful would it be if our children were never to lose themselves in the first place?

  2. This is slightly off topic, perhaps, but I’ll share it because your post reminded me. I was in the office working late recently, with four other ladies pushing towards a big deadline. By 8:30 pm, C (happily married mother of two) was light-heartedly musing about what it would be like not to have to work at all and said “I need to get myself a sugar daddy.” I looked around, surprised to realize that each of us there that evening happens to have a spouse not employed outside the home, and said, “We ALL married the wrong guy for that!”

    C laughed and said “Yep, check us out; we’re liberated,” then paused and exclaimed, “We burned our bras for this?!” earning a big laugh from all of us.

  3. Woah! Go Cindy! Your kids sound like some pretty cool kids and you have done some great up-bringing. Funny stuff. I think you should have more just to keep the stories going! I see you have been getting some great hits and comments on some of your posts of late. Good for you — totally deserved for great writing and a fun read for us. Keep it up! Mary

  4. I think this is every parents’ dream – that their kids grow up to be who they are. I hope my kids are developing those feelings. (I walk to school in sweats, but my goal is to always pick up dressed.)

    • Keeping them to remain true to themselves is a challenge and not an easy one! Especially (like DesiValentine commented) when we adults often have the same struggle. I always send them off with a saying I heard a long time ago….”Remember who you are and whose you are.”

      Always pick up dressed? Thanks, that will be my New Year’s resolution! Just kidding…if I have to go to the school I am always dressed but the bus stop is another story. Recently my oldest said “Mom can you please go back inside because I don’t want you out here with me high beaming like that!” LOL I promptly went into our garage and haven’t high beamed at the bus stop since!!

  5. I have the completely opposite problem when it comes to bras and mine aren’t cheap either – usually about $69 plus. I’m a 34E and 34 inch chests are not supposed to have E cups hanging off them, I gather.

    As for instilling “be happy in your skin” in kids – very true, as you already commented on my article about our little girl’s question day.

  6. I love this! It’s seems so difficult to find that balance between guiding your child and still allowing them to dance to the beat of their own drum. My husband and I don’t have any children of our own yet, but we talk about stuff like this all the time, haha! Anyway, your kids sound great! They are lucky to have you as a Mom 🙂

  7. I have never burned my bras (mine aren’t expensive, but I hate to shop so I wear the same ones for a decade…) but I have been known to go all day without getting dressed (as if pajamas aren’t clothes?) and to march to my own beat (after writing new lyrics, too!).

    Therefore, I officially love this post.
    And I love that your son prefers to have plenty of information and that he OWNS it.

    Five question limit? I don’t think so…

  8. I did burn a bra but it was in a pile of garbage I burned. Sorry, not the liberated bra burning female! hahaha

    I love that your 2nd grader can be so comfortable with his questions and not feel badly when the limit was applied. Too often we take things personally and conform or make excuses. Great Job!

Leave a Reply

