A healthy dish that didn’t taste like sand or worse…

I’d like to share this recipe that I found over at clean eats in the zoo.  If you’re anything like me you get sick and tired of your kitchen rut and shoving the same stuff down your throat.  I like to try new things and my family members (much to their dismay) are my taste testers.

We try to eat healthy but let’s face it, many of those “healthy” recipes wouldn’t even gain a sniff from my food obsessed Lab.  Yeah, they are pretty bad.  But I have to wonder if these healthy foods are the way food items really should taste and are we so strung out on processed foods to recognize the taste of good food?  Could it be?!?  Then I bite into a brown rice biscuit that crumbles apart in my mouth like sand and can’t help but feel the longing for a moist ooey, gooey white one loaded with leaky gut causing gluten and wheat.

But I digress.  Here is a truly kick-butt, mouth watering, healthy recipe that even the kids ate.  Well, they picked away the cabbage but that was totally expected!

Enjoy!!

Spicy Asian cabbage rolls with sliced avocados and frozen bananas

Recipe: Spicy Asian Cabbage Rolls

1 large head cabbage

Chicken marinade:

2 lbs boneless skinless chicken thighs, diced small

2 TBSP sesame oil

2 tsp. minced ginger

1 tsp. salt

1 TBSP coconut aminos ( I picked mine up at Whole Foods)

2 tsp red chili pepper flakes (you can use more or less depending on how spicy you want it)

In the skillet:

2 TBSP olive oil

1 TBSP sesame oil

4-5 green onions, diced small

salt and pepper to taste

In a Ziploc bag, combine all the ingredients in the chicken marinade. Close and let sit in fridge for an hour or two. *Note: You can do this without marinating, but the flavors are much better after sitting for a while.

Fill a large pot with enough water to cover a full head of cabbage. Bring to boiling. Meanwhile, take out the core of the cabbage with a paring knife. Turn off burner, and place whole head of cabbage into pot. Heat “in the skillet” oils over medium heat. Add contents of Ziploc bag to skillet and cook for about 5-6 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add green onions and continue to cook for another 2-3 minutes. Remove from heat.

Gently pull one full leaf of wilted cabbage off of head with tongs. Drain off water, lay in a 9×13 pan, and add chicken mixture. Roll up tightly and lay in pan. Repeat with the rest of the leaves until the chicken mixture is used up.

Cover tightly with foil, place in 350-degree oven and cook for 20-25 minutes. Remove from oven and top with sunshine sauce, if desired. (I tried it with and without the sauce, and it was great either way!)

6 responses to “A healthy dish that didn’t taste like sand or worse…

  1. Thanks for the shout out to my Sunshine Sauce recipe! These cabbage rolls look yummy… I’m going to have to give them a go, I think!

  2. First of all hilarious post title haha. This recipe sounds great and I love cabbage. I will definitely have to try this recipe. Great post! Stop by and say hi,
    http://saltpepperbrilliant.wordpress.com/

  3. I really want a chef. I want yummy food like this, but I’m not very good at spending the time doing it.

Leave a Reply

