The verb that protects and preserves.

February 14th signals the return of Valentine’s Day and this year I am celebrating the holiday and the love it represents with all of my beating heart.

Love was.  Love is.  Love always will be.  I cannot think of a greater force than love.

Love was the driving force for our creation and Jesus taking on the cross, spilling his blood, and sacrificing His life in order that we may live.  If you can’t comprehend this love act then just ask yourself “What would I do to save my child or family member? Would there be a limit or would I risk it all?”

Mr. Pavlov and I got to answer this question Friday night when our gas stove was not turned all the way off and caused gas to slowly flow into our home over a three-hour period while our 15-year-old daughter was home alone.  When we returned home and opened the door attached to the garage downstairs, the strong gas fumes overwhelmed us and we suddenly became aware that proceeding further could result in our death.  Although none of us spoke it, we knew that at any minute the home could explode. Yet the three of us charged into danger without any regard for ourselves because love was compelling us.

Without being instructed to do so our 12-year-old son lead the way into the dangerous fumes. And as I watched him disappear bounding up the steps two at a time in order to get to the stove to quickly shut it off, it was then that my heart skipped a few beats and I prayed “Dear God please do not let this house explode.”  Love does not look out for its own interests.  Love. was. present.

Love is each day and in each God-given breath.  And I knew that the Lord’s merciful love would conquer as I watched Mr. Pavlov and our son drag the unresponsive and unconscious body of our daughter out of the house.  Father and son working together to preserve life while possibly having to lie down their own.

Love is a powerful verb.  It always protects.  It always trusts.  It alway hopes.  It never gives up.  Love never fails. (I Cor 13:7)  God’s love did not fail us that horrid night.  Our daughter survived.  We survived.  The house did not explode but the emergency workers did close down the street in front of our home for a few hours to contain any blast should one occur (it is a good thing that I didn’t fully comprehend the reason they were blockading the street at the time)…sorry neighbors.

Love always will be.  Suppose I have enough faith to move mountains.  If I don’t have love I am nothing at all.  I had faith that Jesus would preserve our daughter but it took love to bring her out of the house.  I am thankful for God’s unfailing, unconditional, unwavering love and our daughter is thankful for ours.

Now we see only a dim likeness of things.  It is as if we were seeing them in a mirror.  But someday we will see clearly.  We will see face to face.  What I know now is not complete.  Someday I will know completely, just as God knows us completely.  The three most important things to have are faith, hope and love.  But the greatest of them is love (I Cor 13:12-13)

Love, a little verb that protects and preserves.  I believe it deserves its own holiday.  How about it?  Let’s celebrate some LOVE!!

Happy Valentine’s Day!!!!!

10 responses to “The verb that protects and preserves.

  1. Oh Beth, how grateful I am for your story and for God’s hand of protection over all of you and your neighborhood! I could hardly believe what I was reading. I was right there with each of you as you reacted and I don’t even want to think further of what the consequences might have been — could have been. What heros you all were and what a beautifully written story of hope for those who don’t believe. You did right to share it. There couldn’t have been a more beautiful Valentine’s story. Love, Mary

    • I’m glad you could follow the event because I intentionally left out all of the horrific details but wrote just enough to give a glimpse of the nightmare we faced. I have seen a lot but seeing my beloved baby girl like that was by far the worst.

      We are beyond grateful!

      Much love to you and yours!

  2. Beth I’m thankful that you wrote this terrible event that happened to your family so that others will know the power of God and His love. When you were all walking through that valley God gave each of you wisdom and He also gave you a peace that only He can give. Love each of you and thanks for the wonderful loving testimony.

    Love and Hugs,

    Martha

  3. Oh, Beth. I am speechless. (Almost.)

    Love is truly remarkable in its ability to propel us past logic and self-interest. We are so often reminded that our world is full of selfishness and greed.

    And yet.

    In a moment like this, love proves to be the strongest motivator of all.
    Wishing your entire family continued grace…

    And much love.

    • Beautifully said…thank you Julie. Also I must thank you for yor piece “Today call me laid.” It helped clear up a few things notice the lay/lie in this post? I believe I used it correctly but darn, I was so tempted to use lay. Old habits are comfy!

  4. Inredible God was with you every step of the way. I am so happy you came out all safe and sound. HE IS GREAT 🙂

  5. What a terrible experience for your family, yet wonderful at the same time because you are all alright.

    Thank goodness your daughter survived, Beth.

    Much love to you all.

Leave a Reply

