When bugs grow muscles

Remember back in the day when a cold was a cold?  Or when the flu was the flu? Or when pink eye was pink eye?  And you toughed it out until AND only until an antibiotic was absolutely necessary.

But somewhere along the way we decided to eat antibiotics like chocolate covered pretzels (my personal favorite) and now we have birthed little demon superbugs.

Yes, today we have these things called superbugs and they flex their resistant genetic coding at our feeble dwindling antibiotic supply and laugh as we cough and swell.

Why am I so bitter you ask?  Well a superbug decided to take up residence in my darling son’s eye and has now spread to the entire family in spite of our neurotic hand washing techniques.  See that’s the evil in all of this…you don’t have to be an antibiotic abuser to get a superbug.  Once created, you can pick these demons up just by having a having a heart beat.

Yeah, pink eye is no longer the simple red colored eye with gooey drainage.  This baby has morphed into something fierce and requires a nuclear strength antibiotic because the usually prescribed Ofloxacin doesn’t even tickle it.  But I didn’t know this valuable piece of info and just went with the Ofloxacin (because I hate to use the big guns until I try the first line).  Why go nuclear when a machine-gun is likely to do the job?  But I really needed nuclear and knew this when the fun began and my eye swelled shut.  To make things more fun, the other one became infected too.   A Family Practice colleague informed me of the superbug and prescribed me something much stronger.  Thanks to her I can now open my eye!

Take a look…

And this is looking good!!!

Those aren't bags under my eyes but pockets of swelling. It was swollen shut but at least here I can open it!

I am on the mend and thankful that these things can still be killed but I must admit I am a little concerned about what will happen when we run out of antibiotics to kill these bacterial critters.  So people please use antibiotics sparingly…like when your eye swells shut or something!  And if your health care provider wants you to wait to see if what you have could be viral before prescribing antibiotics agree to wait.  And take the entire prescription until it is GONE.  Do Not save half for “later” because this action breeds resistance.

I’d like nothing better than to emasculate these bugs and take their muscles away.

Of course they are male.  Don’t ask.  I just know.

 

18 responses to “When bugs grow muscles

  1. I DO remember those days! Getting sick today is no fun at all. I feel your pain and happy you’re on the mend. I’ve been on three antibiotics in the past month. Now I know a male superbug is likely to blame. Great post and stay healthy!

  2. It looks like you’ve gone a couple of rounds with Mike Tyson! That really is nasty.

    I’m in total agreement with you about the over-use of antibiotics. Personally, I don’t go down that road until I’m practically on the floor and I’m convinced that because of this, when I do need to take them, they very successfully batter the bacteria into submission. But I suppose I’ll have to brace myself for the superbugs now, because people in the past popped them like sweets for every little thing, and as you pointed out, in some cases don’t even finish the course. Our resistance is now compromised. Thanks a lot, pill-popping silly people!

    Get well soon.

    • You should see Mike Tyson!

      Exactly! Antibiotics are a necessary evil in this household. We view them cautiously and use them only when absoutley required! But thanks to the over prescribing and extreme use of antibiotics we, who seldom use them, are also placed at resistence risk.

  3. I actually had a pediatrician once prescribe an antibiotic for something that was viral and when I called him on it he said “Well, if I don’t prescribe an antibiotic, parents get upset and insist I give them one”. Seriously!
    We use an ionic form of silver that we get from a local health practitioner. We haven’t used antibiotics for years. And wow! Does it work! Have used it for everything and anything! Pink eye, fungal infections, food poisoning, swimmer’s ear…even an abcess tooth! I didn’t have dental insurance and had an abcess. I almost broke down and called my friend who is a Physician Assistant…. but decided to give the silver a try. My cheek was swelled out like a chipmunk’s cheek filled with walnuts but in less than 24 hours the swelling and pain were gone and I haven’t had any trouble with that tooth since. I swear by that stuff!

    • Yep, unfortunatley many MDs are bullied into prescribing antibiotics. Once superbugs were created educational classes were held to instruct the MDs how to “Just say no” to antibiotics.

      Ionic silver? I never heard of it but will check it out. Thanks Renee!

  4. Agree 110%!!!

    We used to get the flu and be sick for say 3 days – now it is 10 minimum.

    Glad you are all on the mend!

  5. Now I am scared. I hate pink eye and to know it can get worse scares the living daylights out of me. I’m thinking of starting a colony…

    • I haven’t had it since I was a kid. This was one strong critter and NOTHING like I remembered it to be. Not to mention it hurt “like a muther” as my 15yr old daughter yelled in frustration one day.

      Colonize away!

    • I haven’t had it since I was a kid. This was one strong critter and NOTHING like I remembered it to be. Not to mention it hurt “like a muther” as my 15yr old daughter yelled in frustration one day.

      Colonize away!

  6. Oh, lady. I hear you.
    We try to be as anti-antibiotics (is that a thing?) as we can be around here.

    But I have friends who badger their pediatricians into meds the minute their kids run a fever. Funny thing is, their kids are almost always sicker than mine are. Hmmmm.

    So I’m really sorry about the superbug.
    I hope you’re feeling (seeing?) better now and that everyone else is on the mend, too.

    Be well.

    • Thanks. Things are much brighter.

      We do the same and practically run from antibiotics only ingesting them when breathing is necessary. I usually wait a solid 10 days before even thinking what we have may be bacterial and require an antibiotic. I don’t even take my kids to the MD until 7-10 days have passed without improvement. And I can honestly count on one had the times each of my kids have required antibiotics. But those who pop them like Tyenol always seem more unhealthy. And these Drs need to “just say no” regardless of how unhappy the patient becomes!

    • Thanks. Things are much brighter.

      We do the same and practically run from antibiotics only ingesting them when breathing is necessary. I usually wait a solid 10 days before even thinking what we have may be bacterial and require an antibiotic. I don’t even take my kids to the MD until 7-10 days have passed without improvement. And I can honestly count on one had the times each of my kids have required antibiotics. But those who pop them like Tyenol always seem more unhealthy. And these Drs need to “just say no” regardless of how unhappy the patient becomes!

  7. Oh, Beth, all you poor things – it looks and sounds truly awful. I’ve only had a couple of courses of antibiotics in my life and they do terrible things to my digestive tract, so I avoid them if at all possible. But that whole superbug thing is scary!

    I hope, given the tardiness of this comment, that you are well and truly mended now.

    • KB it has been miserable!! I was well and then got reinfected and then well and then reinfected. I am soooo done with this! I carry a bottle of bleach around with me and spray everything in sight. Enough is enough….

  8. Wow. I’m really glad that you’re raising awareness about this. And still doctors are throwing antibiotics at patients like rice at a wedding.

    Similar super bacteria are beginning to become the makeup of what used to be considered treatable STDs. We’re now hearing about chronic Chlamydia, and so forth.

    Good job here, and I hope you get to feeling better. You look… uncomfortable. 😉

Leave a Reply

